Ipsy
IPSY Glam Bag ($12 per month) is one of the most popular and affordable subscriptions around, and our readers have selected it as one of the top beauty boxes for the last 5 years running! IPSY Glam Bag connects members with five makeup, skincare, hair care, and other beauty samples each month, plus a cute makeup bag. IPSY is personalised to your individual profile when you take their onboarding quiz, but what you’ll receive in your monthly glam bag is still a surprise. We recommend starting with the $12 Glam Bag, but devotees may want to try the $25/month Glam Bag Plus or the $55/quarter Glam Bag X for more full-sized beauty products.

The Basics

  • $12 per month
  • Ships to US and Canada
  • Founded in 2011
  • Valued at $50+ per box
  • 5 items in each monthly bag
  • Personalized for your beauty profile
$12
per month

Featured Review: Ipsy May 2021 Unboxing: See What's Inside the Latest Ipsy Delivery

Review for Ipsy May 2021 Unboxing: See What's Inside the Latest Ipsy Delivery
MSA profile picture by MSA on May 25, 2021

Join Naomi Pandolfi, contributing writer at My Subscription Addiction, as she unboxes the Ipsy May 2021 bag — the latest from the beloved beauty subscription. Read more...

More Staff Reviews of Ipsy

The Basics

  • $12 per month
  • Ships to US and Canada
  • Founded in 2011
  • Valued at $50+ per box
  • 5 items in each monthly bag
  • Personalized for your beauty profile

What We Love

  • At just $12, the IPSY Glam Bag is one of the most affordable beauty subscription boxes. But while its price is low, IPSY is one of our faves because it also packs a great value.

  • Personalization. The products you get are selected based on the skin tone, eye & hair color, makeup expertise, & style you set when you sign up. It's not a perfect system, but for $12 it really can’t be beat.

  • All IPSY members can log in and choose one of their products before their bag ships—this is called IPSY Choice.

  • There’s a new makeup bag or pouch in every box! They’re usually the perfect size for tucking in your purse, & the cute designs are fun to show off.

  • They have a great loyalty program: earn points and redeem them for even more beauty products.

What You Should Know

  • Some products you get will be from high-end names like Tarte, Too Faced, and Glow Recipe but others will be smaller brands or even notable drugstore products.

  • IPSY Glam Bag usually only sends 1-2 full-size items—the rest are deluxe samples.

  • IPSY doesn't guarantee specific items will be sent to all subscribers, since it's customized to each person's preferences.

We Recommend IPSY If

  • You love trying out the latest makeup & skincare.

  • You’re new to beauty & want an affordable way to experiment with new products.

  • You’re new to beauty boxes—this is a great and affordable subscription to start with!

Recent News

News image for Ipsy Pop-Up Shop Is Now Open

Ipsy Pop-Up Shop Is Now Open

News image for What's In the Box: A New Unboxing Video Series with Naomi Pandolfi

What's In the Box: A New Unboxing Video Series with Naomi Pandolfi

News image for Ipsy Shipping Delays Update

Ipsy Shipping Delays Update

How Do Subscribers Rate Ipsy?

Star Rating Overview

4.0 overall rating
37%
41%
12%
5%
6%
WRITE A REVIEW

User Photos

User Reviews

Default user profile image

Jun 1, 2021
"So much fun"
I get the smallest bag, the regular glam bag. I've been a subscriber for 18 months now. I have never skipped a month. In that year and a half, I've received maybe 3 duplicate items. One of those was a product I redeemed points for and then got the same product in my glam bag that month. Not too bad in my opinion. I keep my preferences updated and I rarely get a product that I don't like or won't use. My extra bags and products make nice basket and bag stuffers for birthday presents and raffle baskets for fundraiser donations. I look forward to getting my IPSY Glam Bag in the mail every month.
Report
Profile image for Brenda

May 6, 2021
"Ipsy is great for trying new products and different brands."
I really love getting Ipsy bags each month. This is one thing I get for myself. I love trying new makeup and discovering new brands. Ipsy also includes a card with a description of how to use the product and if you follow them on Instagram they have tutorials of the products. I've been subscribing to Ipsy over 5 years and I still get excited when I see the pink package in the mail. If they happen to send something you wouldn't use you can usually gift it to someone who will love it.
Image 1 uploaded by Brenda
Report
Default user profile image

May 1, 2021
"this is a fantastic company that I want to keep ordering"
These guys are the best, love all the products
Report
Default user profile image

Apr 30, 2021
"10/10 Recommend! "
I’ve been doing Ipsy for about 4 months now and I really love it. For full disclosure I used Ipsy previously around 2013-2014, but chose to discontinue my subscription after a year. My sole purpose for cancelling was because the algorithm was awful! This year, I cancelled another sub box and I was looking to dip my toe back into sub boxes and I chose Ipsy. I tweaked my quiz and waited patiently for my first bag. I have to say that each bag improves upon the previous. I try and or use every item from these more recent bags (previously I was using maybe one item or gifting the bags to friends). I 100% recommend trying Ipsy if you are curious. Take time, fill out the beauty quiz and then rate your items monthly - that feedback is critical for the algorithm! Also, as an added bonus, you can pick one item per bag that is completely customized by yourself! This is my favorite part of the Ipsy sub!
Report
Default user profile image

Apr 30, 2021
"Love love love IPSY plus!"
I’m so glad I upgraded to IPSY plus 1 year ago. It’s been amazing. I have all my make up and skin care covered every month, and the brands are lux, innovative and new. By far my favorite subscription.
Report
Default user profile image

Apr 29, 2021
"Ipsy brings up joy"
I cannot really say this is the best bag, but I made it more cheerful with a couple of add-ons. The nail polish is too neon-y for my taste and the eyeshadow quad's colors are not something I would wear. The mascara did not work for me since my lashes are long but not very dense, I prefer volumizing mascaras over the lengthening ones. The brush was my pick this month and it works wonders on the under-eye area. Lip balms are always welcome. Kopari, the temp tattoos and the Tatcha cream were my add-ons. Love them all! Despite the negative reviews regarding the Kopari body glow scent, I personally like it a lot. Overall, Ipsy is my favorite sub box at the moment.
Image 1 uploaded by Katia
Report
Default user profile image

Apr 28, 2021
"Love this to try different products!!"
I really enjoy Ipsy. YES, there are times I get products that don't "fit" my profile, but, what I LOVE about this is that I get to try so many different products for a relatively inexpensive price. I always find something that is new to me and I really like and they always are worth the price I pay for this. The products I don't particularly like, or aren't my colors, I pass on. I love that I get to try so much new!
Report
Profile image for Kathy

Apr 28, 2021
"Nice Products"
I love my Ipsy bags. You get to pick one item and the past few months I have chosen Hair items. This is a great way to try brands that you would not purchase in store. We all know Urban Decay makes the best eyeshadow primer so why would that be in a subscription that allows you to try something new. As for shipping, there are still a lot of shipping delays in the transit system and I am not sure we should be blaming the companies we buy stuff from , but our government's current social distancing policies at sorting facilities. I give kudos to any company that has stayed in business this past year.
Report
Default user profile image

Apr 6, 2021
"love the flowers on may 2021 bag!"
i love the may 2021 bag!!! i love the pink and the flowers on it!! so excited to swap out my purse bag for this one for summer 2021! Thank you ipsy ! can’t wait to see other summer and spring theme bags!! Also , every month the bags are so great! And the ipsy flash sales are amazing! Never have they disappointed me, not ONCE and I’ve been a subscriber for almost 2 years now! I adore Ipsy so much and it is the highlight of my day when I receive my monthly glam bag!
Report
Profile image for Michelle

Aug 3, 2020
Ipsy is my favorite beauty subscription box. I receive 5 products every month, one of those products I choose myself! Ipsy normally has a nice variety of products every month. Plus a cute makeup bag is included every month. Every month is a different design. Also they now have “ add-ons” ranging is price from $25 to $3 each. For the low price of $12 per month I am more than happy with this sub box!
Report
Read More

Recent Spoilers

Spoiler image for Ipsy Glam Bag July 2021 - Full Spoilers

Ipsy Glam Bag July 2021 - Full Spoilers

Spoiler image for Ipsy Glam Bag + Glam Bag Plus July 2021: See the Bag Designs

Ipsy Glam Bag + Glam Bag Plus July 2021: See the Bag Designs

Spoiler image for Ipsy Glam Bag June 2021 - Choice Time

Ipsy Glam Bag June 2021 - Choice Time

FAQ

Does IPSY Glam Bag send full-size beauty products?
IPSY Glam Bag typically sends 1-2 full-size products per box, curated alongside 3-4 deluxe sample sizes. However, the IPSY Glam Bag Plus ($25/month) sends 5 full-size beauty products per month, and IPSY Glam Bag X ($55/quarter) delivers 7-8 full-size products.
What types of beauty products does IPSY send?
A wide variety! You can expect to see cosmetics like lip gloss, eyeliner, eyeshadow, mascara, bronzer, and highlighter, as well as skincare items such as moisturizer, cleanser, oils, and serums. You might also find hair products or other goodies nail polish in there!
Does IPSY let me choose what comes in my box?
IPSY Glam Bag members get to choose 1 item per box. This is called Choice. You’ll be offered 10 products to choose from, and after you’ve made your selection, IPSY will fill out the rest of your box with surprise items to complement your choice, based on the answers to your beauty quiz. Glam Bag Plus ($25/month) members get to choose 3 out of their 5 items in a similar system. Glam Bag X ($55/quarter) members will get to choose 3 products as well but from a variety of exclusive items.
How do IPSY add-ons work?
IPSY allows Glam Bag, Glam Bag Plus, and Glam Bag X subscribers to include up to 10 add-ons in their regular shipment. Every month on the 2nd of the month, beginning at 6 AM PST, IPSY will activate their add-ons page for 24 hours. During that time frame, you can shop deluxe samples for $3 each and full-size items for $12 or $18 each. Anything you choose will be included in your next IPSY subscription shipment, which means they’ll ship for free.
Is shipping free for my IPSY subscription?
Shipping is free for US customers and costs a flat rate of $2.95 to Canadian customers.
Where did Glam Bag Ultimate go?
The former IPSY Glam Bag Ultimate ($50/month) subscription tier is being transitioned to a new, quarterly box called Glam Bag X ($55/month). Final Glam Bag Ultimate orders will be shipped in December 2020. Annual Glam Bag Ultimate subscribers who are left with remaining credits will receive a full refund.
What is IPSY Glam Bag X?
Glam Bag X is IPSY’s newest beauty subscription addition! It’s a quarterly, limited edition box that you must be an existing IPSY subscriber to access. So, if you’re already subscribed to Glam Bag or Glam Bag Plus, you can upgrade to Glam Bag X at any time—it costs $55 per quarter, and is filled with 7-8 full-size products worth up to $350. Each box is curated by a different beauty celeb and offers the opportunity to customize 3 products each quarter. IPSY Glam Bag X ships out in February, May, August, and November. During those months, your Glam Bag X replaces your usual monthly bag (either your Glam Bag or Glam Bag Plus). If you’re subscribed to both, it replaces your Glam Bag Plus.
Does IPSY offer gift subscriptions?
IPSY does not have a specific gifting program, but you can sign a friend up for this subscription by completing their beauty profile for them and using their email address to register. During the process of subscribing for a friend, they’ll have an inactive membership, which IPSY will move to active ASAP.
How do I cancel my IPSY membership?
Start the cancellation process from your IPSY account. After following the steps, you will receive an email to finalize your cancellation. Be sure to click the link in the email or your cancellation request will not be processed.

You must confirm your cancellation via email by 12pm PT on the last day of the month if you don’t want the upcoming month’s Glam Bag. If you confirm your cancellation after 12pm PT, your membership will not end until the following month.

For annual subscribers, you’ll still receive the rest of your Glam Bags for the year, but your membership will not renew.

From the Brand

"We inspire individuals around the world to express their unique beauty. Beauty isn't one-size-fits-all. It's about you. Everything we do is in support of your journey of self-discovery, so you feel confident letting your unique beauty shine bright every day."

Who We Are

MSA has been your top resource for subscription box reviews since 2012, and we like to think of ourselves as your well-researched and trusted friend. Our team has unboxed tens of thousands of boxes, shared their experience honestly, and joined our community in conversations about each. We wouldn't be who we are without our readers, who contribute their own first-hand experience on the thousands of subscriptions we've reviewed. Learn more.