Ipsy
IPSY Glam Bag ($12 per month) is one of the most popular and affordable subscriptions around, and our readers have selected it as one of the top beauty boxes for the last 5 years running! IPSY Glam Bag connects members with five makeup, skincare, hair care, and other beauty samples each month, plus a cute makeup bag. IPSY is personalised to your individual profile when you take their onboarding quiz, but what you’ll receive in your monthly glam bag is still a surprise. We recommend starting with the $12 Glam Bag, but devotees may want to try the $25/month Glam Bag Plus or the $55/quarter Glam Bag X for more full-sized beauty products.

The Basics

  • $12 per month
  • Ships to US and Canada
  • Founded in 2011
  • Valued at $50+ per box
  • 5 items in each monthly bag
  • Personalized for your beauty profile
$12
per month

Featured Review: Ipsy March 2021 Review: Belle en Argent, Ciaté London, and More

Review for Ipsy March 2021 Review: Belle en Argent, Ciaté London, and More
Naomi Pandolfi profile picture by Naomi Pandolfi on March 25, 2021

I liked the variety of products in this month’s Ipsy Glam Bag. I did receive two lip products - the Ciaté London Lip Oil and the Lip Balm with CBD - which is fine by me because I am obsessed with lip products. I also really enjoyed the bright purple of the Belle en Argent Nail Polish. I love the wide brush applicator and the salon quality of the brand. The Benefit Cosmetics Mascara was exciting because it's a new launch from Benefit. This mascara is definitely my favorite of theirs to-date. Lastly, I received the Dionis Hand Cream. I love the rich, warm vanilla bean scent and the quick absorbing hydration the product supplies. With a retail value of $41.03 on a $12 bag, the Ipsy Glam Bag curated a wide range of quality products for me this month. Read more...

More Staff Reviews of Ipsy

The Basics

  • $12 per month
  • Ships to US and Canada
  • Founded in 2011
  • Valued at $50+ per box
  • 5 items in each monthly bag
  • Personalized for your beauty profile

What We Love

  • At just $12, the IPSY Glam Bag is one of the most affordable beauty subscription boxes. But while its price is low, IPSY is one of our faves because it also packs a great value.
  • Personalization. The products you get are selected based on the skin tone, eye & hair color, makeup expertise, & style you set when you sign up. It's not a perfect system, but for $12 it really can’t be beat.
  • All IPSY members can log in and choose one of their products before their bag ships—this is called IPSY Choice.
  • There’s a new makeup bag or pouch in every box! They’re usually the perfect size for tucking in your purse, & the cute designs are fun to show off.
  • They have a great loyalty program: earn points and redeem them for even more beauty products.

What You Should Know

  • Some products you get will be from high-end names like Tarte, Too Faced, and Glow Recipe but others will be smaller brands or even notable drugstore products.
  • IPSY Glam Bag usually only sends 1-2 full-size items—the rest are deluxe samples.
  • IPSY doesn't guarantee specific items will be sent to all subscribers, since it's customized to each person's preferences.

We Recommend IPSY If

  • You love trying out the latest makeup & skincare.
  • You’re new to beauty & want an affordable way to experiment with new products.
  • You’re new to beauty boxes—this is a great and affordable subscription to start with!

Recent News

News image for New Ipsy Point Rewards - Available Now

New Ipsy Point Rewards - Available Now

News image for Meet the 22 New Brands Coming to Ipsy

Meet the 22 New Brands Coming to Ipsy

News image for May 2021 Ipsy Mystery Bags Now Available

May 2021 Ipsy Mystery Bags Now Available

How Do Subscribers Rate Ipsy?

Star Rating Overview

4.0 overall rating
5%
5%
12%
42%
37%
WRITE A REVIEW

User Photos

User Reviews

Default user profile image

May 4, 2021
"Worst company ever"
I signed up for Ipsy in April...still haven’t received those bags and it’s now May! You can’t contact anyone!!!! I canceled my membership and they still took the next payment out! This company is fraudulent and awful! Save your money because you will be taken advantage of!!!!
Report
Default user profile image

May 3, 2021
"Nice products but....."
I do like the variety of products however I feel like they do not look at your preferences. I don’t wear makeup so on my profile I chose rarely to receive these products but it seems like I get more makeup (including brushes) than any other product. Guess I’ll stick with Birchbox.
Report
Default user profile image

May 1, 2021
"this is a fantastic company that I want to keep ordering"
These guys are the best, love all the products
Report
Default user profile image

May 1, 2021
"Extremely Unreliable and Unresponsive "
I am extremely disappointed by IPSY support service. It's the WORST service I have ever encountered!! I subscribed for IPSY monthly bags for 3 times, because my account was closed for the so-called "unusual activity" every time I received my welcome bag. As my account is closed by IPSY for the third time, IPSY nevertheless continues charging my credit card on a monthly basis. I have written to IPSY support numerous e-mails asking to write me if it is possible to re-open my account because my credit card is being charged every month for the glam bags. I have never received any explanation from IPSY except the same standard, mechanical answer: "We have checks in place to ensure the security of your account, and we recently noticed unusual activity that prompted us to close your account." But still my credit card is being charged by IPSY. I think this is extremely dishonest to close one's account for unjustified reasons, to provide no explanation, and to keep charging the account.
Report
Default user profile image

Apr 30, 2021
"10/10 Recommend! "
I’ve been doing Ipsy for about 4 months now and I really love it. For full disclosure I used Ipsy previously around 2013-2014, but chose to discontinue my subscription after a year. My sole purpose for cancelling was because the algorithm was awful! This year, I cancelled another sub box and I was looking to dip my toe back into sub boxes and I chose Ipsy. I tweaked my quiz and waited patiently for my first bag. I have to say that each bag improves upon the previous. I try and or use every item from these more recent bags (previously I was using maybe one item or gifting the bags to friends). I 100% recommend trying Ipsy if you are curious. Take time, fill out the beauty quiz and then rate your items monthly - that feedback is critical for the algorithm! Also, as an added bonus, you can pick one item per bag that is completely customized by yourself! This is my favorite part of the Ipsy sub!
Report
Default user profile image

Apr 30, 2021
"Love love love IPSY plus!"
I’m so glad I upgraded to IPSY plus 1 year ago. It’s been amazing. I have all my make up and skin care covered every month, and the brands are lux, innovative and new. By far my favorite subscription.
Report
Default user profile image

Apr 29, 2021
"Ipsy is Iffy"
I love Glam Bag X and it's the reason I am sticking with Ipsy, but Glam Bag Plus has been well nigh disastrous. Weird brands, poor matching of my profile with my selections, damaged or expired products... there are real problems with Ipsy right now.
Report
Default user profile image

Apr 29, 2021
"Ipsy brings up joy"
I cannot really say this is the best bag, but I made it more cheerful with a couple of add-ons. The nail polish is too neon-y for my taste and the eyeshadow quad's colors are not something I would wear. The mascara did not work for me since my lashes are long but not very dense, I prefer volumizing mascaras over the lengthening ones. The brush was my pick this month and it works wonders on the under-eye area. Lip balms are always welcome. Kopari, the temp tattoos and the Tatcha cream were my add-ons. Love them all! Despite the negative reviews regarding the Kopari body glow scent, I personally like it a lot. Overall, Ipsy is my favorite sub box at the moment.
Image 1 uploaded by Katia
Report
Default user profile image

Apr 29, 2021
"Fav Subscription Club"
I've done both Ipsy and Ipsy Plus, and for me personally the basic subscription meets my needs. Plus was giving me too many products I don't use enough to make it worth it. If I need something I can order thru Ipsy or Amazon. I update my profile regularly as I feel i've gotten too much of an item or I don't like the items I've gotten in a category. For the most part I let Ipsy pick my items based on my profile. I only pick an item on pick day (26th of previous month) if something jumps out to me as a must have. I've worn make up for a long time, but I've learned more and branched out with this subscription. Learned about products I'd never have tried and found new brands I now love.
Report
Default user profile image

Apr 28, 2021
"Plus- not so great lately."
I have loved Ipsy for years but lately the plus bag has been full of a bunch of brands I haven’t heard of. I sadly will be skipping this month.
Report
Read More

Recent Spoilers

Spoiler image for Ipsy Glam Bag May 2021 Spoilers

Ipsy Glam Bag May 2021 Spoilers

Spoiler image for Ipsy Reveals Are Up for the April 2021 Glam Bag

Ipsy Reveals Are Up for the April 2021 Glam Bag

Spoiler image for Ipsy April 2021 Add-On Spoilers

Ipsy April 2021 Add-On Spoilers

FAQ

Does IPSY Glam Bag send full-size beauty products?
IPSY Glam Bag typically sends 1-2 full-size products per box, curated alongside 3-4 deluxe sample sizes. However, the IPSY Glam Bag Plus ($25/month) sends 5 full-size beauty products per month, and IPSY Glam Bag X ($55/quarter) delivers 7-8 full-size products.
What types of beauty products does IPSY send?
A wide variety! You can expect to see cosmetics like lip gloss, eyeliner, eyeshadow, mascara, bronzer, and highlighter, as well as skincare items such as moisturizer, cleanser, oils, and serums. You might also find hair products or other goodies nail polish in there!
Does IPSY let me choose what comes in my box?
IPSY Glam Bag members get to choose 1 item per box. This is called Choice. You’ll be offered 10 products to choose from, and after you’ve made your selection, IPSY will fill out the rest of your box with surprise items to complement your choice, based on the answers to your beauty quiz. Glam Bag Plus ($25/month) members get to choose 3 out of their 5 items in a similar system. Glam Bag X ($55/quarter) members will get to choose 3 products as well but from a variety of exclusive items.
How do IPSY add-ons work?
IPSY allows Glam Bag, Glam Bag Plus, and Glam Bag X subscribers to include up to 10 add-ons in their regular shipment. Every month on the 2nd of the month, beginning at 6 AM PST, IPSY will activate their add-ons page for 24 hours. During that time frame, you can shop deluxe samples for $3 each and full-size items for $12 or $18 each. Anything you choose will be included in your next IPSY subscription shipment, which means they’ll ship for free.
Is shipping free for my IPSY subscription?
Shipping is free for US customers and costs a flat rate of $2.95 to Canadian customers.
Where did Glam Bag Ultimate go?
The former IPSY Glam Bag Ultimate ($50/month) subscription tier is being transitioned to a new, quarterly box called Glam Bag X ($55/month). Final Glam Bag Ultimate orders will be shipped in December 2020. Annual Glam Bag Ultimate subscribers who are left with remaining credits will receive a full refund.
What is IPSY Glam Bag X?
Glam Bag X is IPSY’s newest beauty subscription addition! It’s a quarterly, limited edition box that you must be an existing IPSY subscriber to access. So, if you’re already subscribed to Glam Bag or Glam Bag Plus, you can upgrade to Glam Bag X at any time—it costs $55 per quarter, and is filled with 7-8 full-size products worth up to $350. Each box is curated by a different beauty celeb and offers the opportunity to customize 3 products each quarter. IPSY Glam Bag X ships out in February, May, August, and November. During those months, your Glam Bag X replaces your usual monthly bag (either your Glam Bag or Glam Bag Plus). If you’re subscribed to both, it replaces your Glam Bag Plus.
Does IPSY offer gift subscriptions?
IPSY does not have a specific gifting program, but you can sign a friend up for this subscription by completing their beauty profile for them and using their email address to register. During the process of subscribing for a friend, they’ll have an inactive membership, which IPSY will move to active ASAP.
How do I cancel my IPSY membership?
Start the cancellation process from your IPSY account. After following the steps, you will receive an email to finalize your cancellation. Be sure to click the link in the email or your cancellation request will not be processed.

You must confirm your cancellation via email by 12pm PT on the last day of the month if you don’t want the upcoming month’s Glam Bag. If you confirm your cancellation after 12pm PT, your membership will not end until the following month.

For annual subscribers, you’ll still receive the rest of your Glam Bags for the year, but your membership will not renew.

From the Brand

"We inspire individuals around the world to express their unique beauty. Beauty isn't one-size-fits-all. It's about you. Everything we do is in support of your journey of self-discovery, so you feel confident letting your unique beauty shine bright every day."

Who We Are

MSA has been your top resource for subscription box reviews since 2012, and we like to think of ourselves as your well-researched and trusted friend. Our team has unboxed tens of thousands of boxes, shared their experience honestly, and joined our community in conversations about each. We wouldn't be who we are without our readers, who contribute their own first-hand experience on the thousands of subscriptions we've reviewed. Learn more.