Birchbox
Birchbox ($15 per month) was one of the very first beauty subscription boxes—we’ve been reviewing it since 2012! Each month, subscribers get a new mix of 5 beauty samples, such as makeup, skincare, haircare, and fragrance items. Birchbox lets you choose whether you’d like a box of items picked just for you (including one item you get to pick out yourself), or a 'curated' box fully chosen by Birchbox. You can also shop full-size items to add to your box, if you’d like. Expect new discoveries as well as familiar names, like MAC, Sunday Riley, Kiehl’s, Ouai, Beauty Blender, and more.

The Basics

  • $15 Monthly
  • Ships Worldwide
  • Founded in 2010
  • Personalized based on your profile
  • 5 deluxe samples in each box
$15
Monthly

Featured Review: Birchbox Review + Coupon – March 2021

Review for Birchbox Review + Coupon – March 2021
Naomi Pandolfi profile picture by Naomi Pandolfi on April 7, 2021

I enjoyed all the products in this month's Birchbox. The Payot Crème Glacée is a wonderful daily moisturizer that I am happy to have again. I love that the TLW shampoo was paired with its conditioner. It's great to be able to try the whole haircare system before purchasing. I also really enjoyed the thisworks serum. It's super lightweight and hydrating - a perfect texture for the warmer months coming. Lastly, the bareMinerals lip lacquer came in a beautiful mauve shade - the power of a lip balm, the full-coverage of a lipstick, and the shine of a gloss. With a total retail value of $44.93, you definitely get your money's worth, since this box only costs $15 per month. I think the quality of the brands included in this month's box was definitely high value. Read more...

More Staff Reviews of Birchbox

The Basics

  • $15 Monthly
  • Ships Worldwide
  • Founded in 2010
  • Personalized based on your profile
  • 5 deluxe samples in each box

What We Love

  • Name-brand makeup, skincare, haircare, & fragrance items.
  • Having some control over what we get each month.
  • Personalized boxes curated to match our preferences.

What You Should Know

  • This is a sample box, but you can include full-size items in your order as add-ons.
  • Keep your profile filled out & updated—Birchbox uses it to personalize what you get each month!

We Recommend Birchbox If

  • You love trying new products, including haircare, skincare, makeup, & more.
  • You’re looking for an affordable beauty box.
  • You prefer exploring sample sizes rather than committing to full-size products.
  • You’re new to beauty boxes—it’s a great box for subscription newbies to learn about the brands out there!

Recent News

News image for Birchbox Favorites Gift Box - Available Now

Birchbox Favorites Gift Box - Available Now

News image for Birchbox Head-to-Toe Beauty Kit – Coming Soon

Birchbox Head-to-Toe Beauty Kit – Coming Soon

News image for Birchbox The SPF Try-It Kit - Available Now

Birchbox The SPF Try-It Kit - Available Now

How Do Subscribers Rate Birchbox?

Star Rating Overview

3.7 overall rating
30%
37%
17%
8%
8%
WRITE A REVIEW

User Reviews

Profile image for Nick

Jan 20, 2021
I love birchbox man. Great way to try and explore different products and I love the surprise and delight! I find more utility from the grooming products with Birchbox than some of those accessory boxes.
Report
Default user profile image

Jul 30, 2020
Very fun box if you like sample size products. I got one each for my teenage daughters and they use all products and love unboxing. It’s a good value and a good starter box.
Report
Profile image for Penny

Mar 10, 2020
Like many others, Birchbox is my original sub box. I am an ACE and am locked into the 10.00 a month price. I do feel that I get good value for my money, especially with the new curated box options and six samples. Yes, a lot of the products are repeats and brands that have been around forever. I’m not offended by that because, for the most part, I love them. They seem to do a better job curating my profile preferences than another sub of mine that has sent me countless black eyeliners. Birchbox customer service has gone from stellar to sluggish in recent months, but they always do respond....eventually, and have been very generous with compensation for lost/damaged items. I can’t think of a negative experience in three years of subscribing.
Report
Default user profile image

Nov 6, 2019
Love Birchbox and Ipsy. The last few orders were not as good as the ones prior.Hope it improves.
Report
Profile image for Shay

Mar 29, 2016
If you're interested in trying a beauty box or want to purchase a subscription for a friend you cannot lose with Birchbox!! I have tried a great number of beauty subscription boxes. My family (out numbered by boys) would tell you I'm long overdue for an intervention... With that knowledge and experience of beauty boxes I must share that Birchbox is my absolute FAVORITE! I've been a member for the last 3 years now and have seen them evolve with trying new things, building up an awesome and engaging loyalty program and providing top notch customer service!! I've since purchased birchbox for 3 family members and 3 friends. Though a member of a great number of subscription boxes, birch is the only one I've jumped to purchase for others knowing without concern that the recipient will enjoy it! The other beauty boxes cannot touch birchbox between the quality of products, awesome program and a low cost $10 a month price point including shipping.
Report
Default user profile image

Dec 22, 2015
I LOVE this subscription box. The best present I have ever received. Each box is different and full of surprises. The profile I filled out about myself that they base products they send you hasn't been wrong yet. It is worth the wait and the money invested into this subscription. I recommend this to everyone I know who is looking for a gift to give to someone!
Report
Default user profile image

Aug 26, 2015
Birchbox rocks. In general, you get samples of high-quality products, with an emphasis on skincare, for a very reasonable price. You get points for reviewing the items which you can use to buy yourself more boxes!
Report
Default user profile image

Aug 13, 2015
I love it! I rarely wear makeup but was interested in trying. Birchbox is so cheap and curates monthly shipments that are made for girls just like me! I love the surprise as well :)
Report
Profile image for roxxie

Jul 13, 2015
in my opinion birchbox has the best customer service i've had 3 problems since i've been with them but they have been on it with a fast response every time and no hassle with shipping out whatever you need...i've liked everything that they have sent me it is a sub box to try new things that is what i got it for i know it will be hit or miss but totally happy with everything so far
Report
Profile image for Sara

May 10, 2015
I just received my third box (the May Cupcakes and cashmere curated box) and I am very impressed with the service to the point that I've already referred and gifted 5 friends! The customer service is on point, the points system is awesome and I can only see this getting better! My only complaint thus far is that since I paid for an annual subscription I want eligible to try the new program with full sized products. That being said it looks like everyone who did that last month got almost the same box and it wasn't very impressive, so I'll stick with my base model and soak up the good deals!
Report
Read More

Recent Spoilers

Spoiler image for Birchbox April 2021 Box - Spoiler #2!

Birchbox April 2021 Box - Spoiler #2!

Spoiler image for Birchbox April 2021 Box Spoiler!

Birchbox April 2021 Box Spoiler!

Spoiler image for Birchbox January 2021 Box - Spoiler #1!

Birchbox January 2021 Box - Spoiler #1!

FAQ

How much does Birchbox cost?
Birchbox costs $15 per month. You can save on the price per box by prepaying for a 6-month or 12-month subscription.
How much does Birchbox shipping cost?
Shipping is free to the US.
Does Birchbox ship internationally?
Birchbox does offer subscriptions to those living in the UK, Ireland, France, Belgium, and Spain, but subscribers have to sign up through those international websites. Here are the links: Birchbox UK, Birchbox France, and Birchbox Spain.
What are all the Birchbox subscriptions offered?
"

Birchbox offers a monthly beauty subscription that’s personalized based on your beauty profile, as well as additional monthly boxes that are curated by their team of experts (including co-founder Katia Beauchamp). Head here to read the details of the two monthly curated boxes— Katia’s Picks and the Clean Beauty Box that you can choose from each month.

On top of it, they also often sell limited-edition beauty boxes for one-time purchase. Their limited-edition boxes are always themed, and in the past, they’ve been filled with high-quality hair products and beauty items like cleansers, mascara, conditioner, and more, all focused on a theme.

Finally, you can visit their online shop to buy your favorite Birchbox finds again.

"
Can I customize my Birchbox subscription?
Regular Birchbox subscribers have access to Sample Choice, which allows you to either select one of the beauty products you’ll receive in your next box (to be featured alongside sample products chosen by Birchbox based on your profile), opt into a curated box instead of your regular personalized box, swap your box to receive a featured product instead, or swap your box to receive loyalty points instead.
How does the Birchbox loyalty program work?
Any Birchbox monthly subscriber can earn loyalty points by making purchases in the shop or buying gift subscriptions—you get 1 point for every $1 you spend. Every 10 points you earn = $1 that can be redeemed for any full-size product in the shop. If you’re a frequent shopper (or gifter), you can earn your way to Aces VIP status. Aces get extra perks such: 1.3 points for every $1 they spend, access to exclusive promotions, discounts on their monthly subscriptions, and early access to sample choice. If you want to earn loyalty points in other ways, you can always skip a box in your monthly subscription and swap it for points.
Does Birchbox send clean beauty samples?
While Birchbox does include cruelty-free and ingredient-conscious products in some boxes, they cannot guarantee a full spread of samples with these specifications with the personalized subscription. However, you can opt-in to a curated Clean Beauty box any month (details here), and they’ve also organized a Clean Beauty Shop that offers filters so you can refine your search to view certain ingredients or vegan or vegetarian products.
Is there a men’s version of Birchbox?
Yes! Birchbox Grooming (formerly Birchbox Man) is a monthly men’s subscription that sends sample-sized toiletries and lifestyle items such as socks, wallets, belts, and more. It costs $10 per month.
Can I send Birchbox as a gift?
Yes! Birchbox is one of the easiest subscriptions to give as a gift. You can purchase a gift subscription card for 3, 6, or 12 months. Once gifted, your recipient can redeem their card to get their subscription going, starting with completing their beauty profile.
Is canceling Birchbox easy?
If you’re signed up for the month-to-month plan for this subscription service, you can unsubscribe anytime by visiting the “Subscriptions” section of your Account Settings. If you’ve already been billed for the month, your cancellation will take effect the following month. If you’re signed up for a 3-month, 6-month, or 12-month plan you cannot cancel your subscription mid-cycle, but you can opt-out of auto-renewal at the end of your term by contacting [email protected]

From the Brand

"We make finding beauty and grooming stuff fun. Birchbox is a service that helps you discover the right stuff for your beauty routine. We curate the right products and send you a box of 5 deluxe samples every month. When you find something you love, we make it easy to buy the full size in our online shop and give you loyalty points while you’re at it!"

Who We Are

MSA has been your top resource for subscription box reviews since 2012, and we like to think of ourselves as your well-researched and trusted friend. Our team has unboxed tens of thousands of boxes, shared their experience honestly, and joined our community in conversations about each. We wouldn't be who we are without our readers, who contribute their own first-hand experience on the thousands of subscriptions we've reviewed. Learn more.