BarkBox
BarkBox is a reader-favorite monthly subscription box service for dogs (woof!). In each high-quality box, your pupper gets 2 bags of all-natural dog treats made in the U.S. or Canada, 2 innovative toys, and a chew, all inspired by a quirky new monthly theme. Past themes like “Dogsgiving,” “Peanuts,” and “Lick or Treat” didn’t disappoint. Prices start at $23/box for a 12-month plan and include free shipping inside the 48 contiguous United States. Each box is valued at over $40.

BarkBox not only tops our Reader's Choice list for Best Dog Subscription Boxes, but also comes in 2nd place with their alternative Super Chewer box, so if your dog is larger and tends to destroy toys, you might want to check out reviews of that box as well!

The Basics

  • $35 Monthly
  • Ships to US and Canada
  • Founded in 2011
  • Valued at $40+ per box
$35
PLUS Special Offer

Featured Review: Our Honest BarkBox Review – Is It Worth It?

Review for Our Honest BarkBox Review – Is It Worth It?
Megan K. profile picture by Megan K. on July 2, 2020

Is BarkBox worth it? Megan has written over a year's worth of BarkBox reviews and she has some thoughts inside! Read more...

More Staff Reviews of BarkBox

The Basics

  • $35 Monthly
  • Ships to US and Canada
  • Founded in 2011
  • Valued at $40+ per box

What We Love

  • Dogs just want to have fun (and snacks!) and our doggies love these all-natural treats & creative toys.

  • Unique monthly themes for pet parents to enjoy.

  • Choice of 3 boxes curated to suit your dog’s size, and the size of toys your dog prefers.

  • Pups go bonkers on BarkBox Day and can’t wait to get their paws on squeaky new toys and bags of treats.

  • For your doggo’s birthday month, you can add a birthday-themed extra toy or goodies to your box

What You Should Know

  • BarkBox all-natural treats are made in the U.S. & Canada and are wheat, corn, soy, and filler-free.

  • BarkBox also offers allergy-free boxes, which exclude beef, chicken, and turkey.

  • Is your dog a heavy chewer that’s tough on toys? Check out the Super Chewer box, BarkBox's brand for tougher toys & treats.

  • Want more of something? You can purchase items from past boxes in the BarkShop.

We Recommend BarkBox If

  • You’re looking for high-quality, all-natural dog treats and toys you can trust.

  • You want a convenient way to pamper your pet with goodies month after month.

  • You love a good pun. (This box is full of ‘em!)

Recent News

News image for BarkBox Super Chewer Deal- Get a FREE Jersey While Supplies Last!

BarkBox Super Chewer Deal- Get a FREE Jersey While Supplies Last!

News image for Only for Your Dog: 6 Free Toys from BarkBox Super Chewer!

Only for Your Dog: 6 Free Toys from BarkBox Super Chewer!

News image for BarkBox Super Chewer Deal--Get a FREE Free FUNBOY Yacht Pool Float While Supplies Last!

BarkBox Super Chewer Deal--Get a FREE Free FUNBOY Yacht Pool Float While Supplies Last!

How Do Subscribers Rate BarkBox?

Star Rating Overview

3.6 overall rating
44%
21%
6%
9%
20%
WRITE A REVIEW

User Photos

User Reviews

Default user profile image

Aug 1, 2021
"Love it!"
Our Luna loved the snacks and we love the themes! Always a fun day when we get our Bark Box. Thanks!
Report
Default user profile image

Jul 31, 2021
"Caring company!! "
Our dog Rosie unexpectedly passed away. When I contacted Bark Box, they were so compassionate. There was not one issue with canceling the subscription. They even sent me two very nice handwritten condolence cards with one having a very nice watercolor art piece of Rosie with her favorite Snoopy. To me, this is what is lost with many companies, to take the time to show you care. If you are looking for quality fun toys and treats, this is the monthly subscription you want. When our home is blessed with a new member, Bark Box will be my first call. I hope whoever is reading this, helps you make your decision. It's easy to ship a box and make money. it takes a real company to show compassion and show they do believe that what they do makes a difference in our pet's and families' lives. Thank you Bark Box for being there.
Image 1 uploaded by Jay Image 2 uploaded by Jay Image 3 uploaded by Jay
Report
Profile image for Andrea

Jun 28, 2021
"Good box, dogs love it."
My Dogs love this box. I have a very playful Kokoni that opens it with me and just dives right in. The treats are a hit with me because the dogs don't throw them up. I'm just gonna assume they taste good. And having fresh toys every month is a big bonus. One of mine loves to chew and play and they get worn out pretty quick, so this keeps her with plenty of options and I dont have to feel bad when I sneak an old tired one off to the trash. On a side note, some of these options have become a regular purchase so thats always a bonus. Like the bag of chews from the last box went over so well that I ended up buying a big bag so they can each have one at bed time.
Report
Default user profile image

Jun 19, 2021
"I recommend "
I like Barkbox and think it’s worth the cost for organic treats made in USA and durable toys with free extra bonus toy or double your box promotions. They also have add ons to your subscription like add second box for $17 and some change. I like how if you have any issues with toys, they have excellent customer service and will make it right for you and your pup.
Image 1 uploaded by Jacob
Report
Default user profile image

Jun 1, 2021
"Love This Company"
Just rejoined barkbox and unfortunately who ever delivered the box left it on the front porch because it never showed up! I contacted barkbox by text and there sending my pup a replacement box for free! Wonderful Company! If you can afford it please get your pup a subscription! They are very responsive when you contact them! There toys are seriously indestructible! I have a 52 pound pit/Boxer and she can never destroy the toys! So worth the money! Very reasonable prices! Thank You Barkbox!
Report
Default user profile image

May 6, 2021
"Love my sqeaker baby"
Buttercup loves her sqeaker baby from barkbox
Image 1 uploaded by Rebecca Image 2 uploaded by Rebecca
Report
Default user profile image

Apr 30, 2021
"Uncanny customer service "
The customer service is uncanny! If you have any questions, concerns or a complaint they get to you right away! You can text, so no waiting on hold forever and they return your text right away! I’ve reached out twice for questions and once for a concern, every single time they were super friendly and resolved my question right away! I definitely recommend them. My dog loves his box!
Report
Default user profile image

Mar 10, 2021
"Amazing Experience; 2 year subscriber!"
I am so impressed with BarkBox. I had reached out to let them know I never received 2 boxes and they sent me new ones with an extra toy in each!!! My dog is a lab/hound mix, about 50lbs, and 2.5 years old. He likes to chew, but only when I am home with him. He sometimes can destroy the toys as he likes to suck on ears, hands, feet, etc (little parts of the toys) and then tries to pull them off with his teeth LOL he is often successful at reaching the fluff with this method, but sometimes the toy is so well made that him biting those things off is not an issue and the toy remains intact (like the scooby doo toy, for example, he is missing both his ears but the toy itself is fine haha! Anyway, i would recommend this company to anyone!
Report
Profile image for HeyLea

Jan 27, 2021
My best doggie friend and I love BARKBOX! I can not say enough good things about this company. Quality products and food/treats. Customer service is outstanding. I have called, emailed and used online chat and all questions were answered on the spot and managed to my satisfaction. The only reason we are no longer receiving our subscription is due to pandemic eco (no job) issues. This will be the first subscription I reinstate.
Report
Default user profile image

Dec 27, 2020
I love BarkBox. It is a great service for getting treats and toys to your dog, especially if your dog gets bored easily. It's cheaper to have BarkBox than it is to buy the same amount of toys/treats from your local pet store.
Report
Read More

Recent Spoilers

Spoiler image for BarkBox Super Chewer Space Jam Box — Spoilers for July 2021

BarkBox Super Chewer Space Jam Box — Spoilers for July 2021

FAQ

Is a BarkBox Subscription easy to cancel?
You can disable your auto-renewal on your account dashboard page, but you’ll still receive the boxes you initially signed up to get. The 3-, 6-, and 12-month plans can’t be ended early. The Happy Team is there to help make your boxes amazing and answer any questions. You can also make changes and add extra items to your BarkBox on your account dashboard page.
How much does BarkBox cost?
BarkBox is $23/month for a 12-month subscription, $26/month for a 6-month subscription, and $35/month for a monthly subscription, plus free shipping within the contiguous 48 United States. Each box contains at least $40 worth of treats, toys, and chews. Shipping to Hawaii, Alaska, and Canada is $8. The more durable Super Chewer ranges from $30 to $45/month per box (depending on length of commitment) and each box is valued at over $45.
What do you get with BarkBox?
Each box (aka month long dog party) comes with 2 bags of treats made in the U.S. or Canada, 2 one-of-a-kind dog toys (think squeakers), and a tasty dog chew. The boxes are curated based on each month’s different new theme.
What size BarkBox should I get for my dog?
BarkBox offers three sizes for subscribers. They’re all the same price and you can update it anytime. Small is for most small dogs under 20 lbs, medium for medium dogs 20-49 lbs, and large is for large dogs over 50 lbs. If your hound is extra tough on chew toys, Super Chewer is your best bet.
When can I expect to receive my BarkBox?
Estimated delivery is 5 to 8 business days in the U.S. (and 8 to 12 business days in Canada, Alaska, and Hawaii). Subscription boxes are shipped within the first 2 weeks of each month.

Who We Are

MSA has been your top resource for subscription box reviews since 2012, and we like to think of ourselves as your well-researched and trusted friend. Our team has unboxed tens of thousands of boxes, shared their experience honestly, and joined our community in conversations about each. We wouldn't be who we are without our readers, who contribute their own first-hand experience on the thousands of subscriptions we've reviewed. Learn more.